The Town of Jonesville, originally Martinsborough, was established about 1798 and had its origins in the iron ore mining that began in the 1700s. Incorporated in 1811, the town's name was changed to Jonesville in 1815 in honor of a local citizen, Hardy Jones. The town grew to prominence because of the Jonesville Male and Female Academy, which drew students from across the South. The school was ransacked in the spring of 1865 by soldiers from Union General George Stoneman's Cavalry, but the academy's prized possession, a bell cast of bronze and 99 silver dollars, was overlooked and now resides atop the Jonesville First United Methodist Church. Read more about our rich history here.